JCviggen's misano B7 RS4 - work in progress

Hello everyone.

I’ve registered here because this board struck me as the most technically minded without too much BS. Hopefully my initial impressions will turn out to be correct ;D

Anyway. Long story long:

I’ve bought a B7 RS4. In Moscow, Russia. I work and live here even if I’m Belgian originally. The mere fact that I bought it in Russia complicates things a little, insofar that you don’t have many used RS4s to choose from and none of them are likely to be in perfect condition. I also have a C5 RS6 which I’ve been driving for the past 4 years so I’m no stranger to all the faults and aggravation that is part of owning these things.

I had been looking at 997 turbos but the local currency collapsing led to all the good ones being snapped up before I had the funds available, and now they’re somewhat overinflated. So I went to plan B of getting a B7 RS4 I had always wanted as a “fun” car with the future purpose of turning it into a Nordschleife-going track car when I’m visiting home. Until then I’ll use it for regular stuff here in Moscow.

I figure it should be good fun to have a high revving NA on track, and back in the day with my turbo volvo blowing off boost hoses and other turbo issues on track did get on my nerves. It’s also very drivable in the wet, which is a bonus given the climate there. Maybe I’ll fit some KW v3, take all the seats out and replace them with light racing buckets. Add some proper brake pads on 380mm rotors and it should be a capable car to both use as a track vehicle and a daily driver when I’m visiting home. Of course the precats will get ditched and a suitable map flashed into it but I’m not totally sold on aftermarket exhausts yet.