Some interesting tuning stuff regarding E85 good read

Since i have not seen any real concrete info on E85 Air/Fuel ratios on this forum, i figured i would throw up what i know so that some of you can make more educated decisions on what AFR you should tune for on E85. I will only discuss E85 AFRs in this thread and will start a thread regarding ignition timing in the near future, as i don’t have the time to do it currently.

I have been tuning many years and have a lot of experience tuning all of the exotic race fuels, along with pump gas. This was actually my first attempt at tuning E85(due to just getting it in my area), but before i attempted to tune the “Corn Juice” i did a TON of research on this amazing alternative fuel. Some things about E85 i already knew, but i found there was a lot i didn’t. I want to share what i have learned while tuning my own car on E85.

Despite E85 having been around for a several years now, there is still a vacuum of info on the fuel and some of the info i found was completely incorrect. Most of your pro tuners out there know that E85 is probably one of the best fuels on the market at any price, but they aren’t so quick to give up what they know on the subject.

First we’re gonna start off with Air/Fuel Ratios and what they mean with reference to E85.

E85 has a stoichiometric fuel mixture of roughly 9.78-9.8:1 in E85’s purest form (Class 1 85% Ethanol summer blend). As the fuel’s Ethanol content goes up the stoich range goes down. For instance, 100% Ethanol’s stoich is about 9.0:1.